Academic success honored with H Award

Large group of students stands on a stage

Thirty-nine Herkimer High School students were honored Oct. 19 with the Academic H award, which recognizes students who achieved a grade point average of 90 or higher during the previous school year.

Following the Pledge of Allegiance led by Student Council president Jenna Vincent, Principal Mary Tomaso welcomed students and guests to the awards program.

Tomaso emphasized that the Academic H award is a mark of achievement, not just participation. “The academic H is our way of acknowledging your commitment to scholarship,” she told the group of sophomores, juniors and seniors. 

Tomaso introduced guest speaker Viktoria Yudchits, a 2014 graduate of Herkimer High School studying biology, philosophy, chemistry and health care ethics as an honor student at Utica College.

“Her research has taken her to conferences around the country and nations around the world,” Tomaso said. “She shows us that you don’t have to leave the valley to find success.”

Following Yudchits’ remarks, Assistant Principal Zachary Abbe joined Tomaso in distributing the academic awards, and offered closing remarks.

Abbe praised Yudchits for her message, which encouraged students to “do more,” and challenged the H award-winning students to take up her message.

“Be more than a participant,” Abbe urged the students. “Be a leader. Be an advocate.”

Academic H award winners were as follows:

10th gradeAaron Baldwin, Joseph Carney, Matthew Gallagher, Kurstin Gay, Adam Green, Patrick Gurtowski, Evan Maiorano, Peyton McKinney, Julia Perkins, Nathaniel Polus, Emily Salamon, Logan Selph, Abigail Stapf, Tyler Steele, Natalie Wheet, Zachary Williams and Tracy Xiao.

11th gradeKyle Bixler, Maria Humble Ally Kirlkpatrick, Patrick Parese, Lilah Ramsey, Julia Yudchits and Angelica Zhushma.

12th gradeBrett Bala, Felicity Bancella, Ashley Cady, Dacey Flannagan, Nicole Gallagher, Amanda Johnson, Alexis Lyga, Todd Maphia, Alyssa Ovitt, Joseph Perkins, Paige Phillips, Zachary Polus, Nicholaus Stallman, Jenna Vincent and Nicholas Warner.

Posted on Categories Archive
Herkimer logo