Herkimer students recognized with Academic H Awards

Almost 50 Herkimer Jr./Sr. High School students in grades 10-12 received Academic H Awards on Monday, Nov. 20, for maintaining a grade-point average of 90% or higher for every marking period of the previous school year.

“The Academic H Awards have more than 40 years of history and recognize students for a sustained commitment to academic success,” Herkimer Jr./Sr. High School Principal Zachary Abbe said. “The awards give us a chance to put the spotlight on educational achievement, and we’re proud to have so many students earn this honor.”

The annual Academic H Awards were established by the Herkimer Central School District Board of Education in 1982. Herkimer students currently in grades 10-12 received their Academic H Awards for the 2022-23 school year in the form of certificates and “H” pins during the ceremony on Monday, Nov. 20, at the Jr./Sr. High School.

Seniors who earn Academic H Awards for the 2023-24 school year will receive their awards at graduation in June 2024, and students in grades 9-11 will be recognized during the fall 2024 Academic H Awards Ceremony.

The 2023 Academic H Awards Ceremony also continued the practice of having a former Herkimer student return to give current students some insights into life after high school. The guest speaker is traditionally the Student Council president from four school years prior. That was the case again this year with 2019-20 Student Council President Joseph Carney visiting to give a speech titled, “What Will You Do to Make Your Place in the World Today?”

The students who were recognized on Monday, Nov. 20, for winning Academic H Awards for the 2022-23 school year are the following:

10th grade:

  • Avrey Allen
  • Morgan Berberick
  • Arriana Boyd
  • Marguerite Bray
  • Silvio Ceneviva
  • Vadim Donets
  • Braden Flint
  • Sarah Huyck
  • Cooper Jordan
  • Anna Marquissee
  • Shane Maxon
  • Roselyn Nietes
  • Logan Palmer
  • Russell Stapf
  • Ariana Verenich
  • Colton Wheet
  • Johnny Xiao

11th grade:

  • Bianca Barreto
  • Sydney Bell
  • Caitlin Berg
  • Danny Bleaking
  • Christopher Farrell
  • Brian Flint
  • Mckenna Gargas
  • Fauziatu Ibrahim
  • Audrey McDonnell
  • Chase Pettengill
  • Zachary Petucci
  • Logan Pullman
  • Brady Saunders
  • Anna Verenich
  • Vanessa Verenich

12th grade:

  • Christian Allen
  • Zoey Caldwell
  • John Campagna
  • Kyle Carney
  • Jayden Crandall
  • Nicholas Ferreras
  • Danielle Gilbert
  • Juleighanna Herringshaw
  • Cassandra Larzelere
  • Aubrey Lewis
  • Abbigail O’Hara
  • Riley Pine
  • Naeleah Santiago Vazquez
  • Victoria Stapf
  • Cameron Voce
  • Don Zhao


Herkimer logo