Board of Education

About the Board

Four men and three women pose next to an American flag
Back row, from left: Robert Mihevc, Diann Fischer, Mark Conley, Scott Pettuci. Front row from left: Brian Crandall, Michele Gilbert, Patricia Giffune.

The Herkimer Central School Board of Education is entrusted with the responsibility for the district’s policies, property and personnel by the citizens who elect its members.

Board of Education Members

The Board of Education election is held annually on the third Tuesday of May, alongside the district’s annual budget vote. Members are elected to serve three-year, unpaid terms. The following community members are presently serving on the Herkimer Central School District’s Board of Education. Officers, position held and committee assignments are noted below.

Brian Crandall, Board President. Term Ends: 2021
bcrandall@herkimercsd.org
Committees: Facilities Management/Capital Projects, Health and Safety, Intergovernmental. Other assignments: NYSSBA Voting Representative. 

Mark Conley, Vice President. Term Ends: 2019
mconley@herkimercsd.org
Committees: Facilities Management/Capital Projects, Policy Review, Public Relations. Other assignments: NYSSBA Voting Representative (alternate); SBI Representative (alternate). 

Diann Fischer, Board Member. Term Ends: 2020
dfischer@herkimercsd.org
Committees: Negotiations, Shared Services, Public Relations, Intergovernmental. 

Michele Gilbert, Board Member. Term Ends: 2021
mgilbert@herkimercsd.org
Committees: Negotiations, Public Relations, Health and Safety. 

Patricia Giffune, Board Member. Term Ends: 2019.
pgiffune@herkimercsd.org
Committees: Shared Services, Policy Review, Intergovernmental. 

Robert Mihevc, Board Member. Term Ends: 2019.
rmihevc@herkimercsd.org 
Committees: Facilities Management/Capital Projects, Negotiations. Other assignments: SBI Representative

Scott Petucci, Board Member. Term Ends: 2020.
spetucci@herkimercsd.org
Committees: Shared Services, Policy Review, Health and Safety, Intergovernmental.